Rice flakes are produced by flattening polished white or brown rice with rollers. The rice is usually steamed in advance so that the rice flakes hold their shape better. Rice flakes are a gluten-free alternative to other cereal flakes that are often eaten for breakfast. You can purchase (organic) rice flakes or make them yourself using a grain mill.
Rice flakes can be eaten in classic breakfast cereals such as muesli or hot cereal. They can also be used to make desserts, such as a quick rice pudding. When baking, you can replace 10 % of the flour called for with rice flakes. Other creative uses for rice flakes include using them to make vegan patties or nuggets. Baby cereal made from rice flakes is also frequently sold in supermarkets.
|Not only vegans and vegetarians should read this: |
A Vegan Diet Can Be Unhealthy. Nutrition Mistakes.
Making homemade rice cereal:
You can make your own rice flakes using a grain mill. If you want to make sure that your rice flakes are raw, then it is a good idea to make them yourself as those sold commercially are usually steamed before they are flattened with rollers.
From Wikipedia: A detailed analysis of nutrient content of rice suggests that the nutrition value of rice varies based on a number of factors. It depends on the strain of rice, such as white, brown, red, and black (or purple) varieties having different prevalence across world regions. It also depends on nutrient quality of the soil rice is grown in, whether and how the rice is polished or processed, the manner it is enriched, and how it is prepared before consumption.1
Compared to white rice, brown rice contains many more vitamins, minerals, and trace elements. In particular, brown rice contains much higher levels of magnesium, calcium, iron, and zinc, as well as the vitamins E, B1, B2, and B3.2
Rice contains very little sodium and is therefore a good choice if you want to get rid of extra water in your body. However, you should then not add any additional salt.2 Rice flakes are a good gluten-free alternative for people who have a gluten intolerance. Look for the gluten-free symbol on the rice package to be sure that the product doesn’t contain any gluten.
Dangers / Intolerances:
Rice syrup and products containing it were found in a 2012 study to contain significant levels of arsenic (As), which is toxic to humans. This is presumably due to the high prevalence of arsenic in rice. The authors recommended that regulators establish legal limits for arsenic levels in food, particularly in infant and toddler formulas.3
From Wikipedia: Rice is the staple food of over half the world's population. It is the predominant dietary energy source for 17 countries in Asia and the Pacific, 9 countries in North and South America and 8 countries in Africa. Rice provides 20% of the world’s dietary energy supply, while wheat supplies 19% and maize (corn) 5%.1
- Wikipedia. Rice [Internet]. Version dated November 11, 2018
- Wikipedia. Reis [Internet]. Version dated January 29, 2018
- Wikipedia. Brown rice syrup. Version dated February 18, 2018